US Indymedia Global Indymedia Publish About us
Printed from Boston IMC :
IVAW Winter Soldier

Winter Soldier
Brad Presente

Other Local News

Spare Change News
Open Media Boston
Somerville Voices
Cradle of Liberty
The Sword and Shield

Local Radio Shows

WMBR 88.1 FM
What's Left
WEDS at 8:00 pm
Local Edition
FRI (alt) at 5:30 pm

WMFO 91.5 FM
Socialist Alternative
SUN 11:00 am

WZBC 90.3 FM
Sounds of Dissent
SAT at 11:00 am
Truth and Justice Radio
SUN at 6:00 am

Create account Log in
Comment on this article | Email this article | Printer-friendly version
News ::
Nov. 5-8: 2003 Drug Policy Conference in East Rutherford, NJ (english)
16 Oct 2003
Reason - Compassion - Justice
The Drug Policy Alliance 2003 Biennial Conference Is Less Than One
Month Away!

Register now at

Reason - Compassion - Justice

November 5-8, 2003

The Sheraton Meadowlands Hotel & Conference Center, East Rutherford,
New Jersey (15 minutes from midtown Manhattan)


Don't miss the deadline for early bird registration. SAVE $70

The early bird registration fees have been extended until October
20th!! Early bird fees for the Awards Ceremony and exhibitors will also
apply. To register, please visit


This year we will celebrate the Awards for Achievements in Drug Policy
Reform throughout the conference and at a special Awards Ceremony and
Dinner on Friday, November 7, 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm at the Sheraton
Meadowlands. For more information and a complete list of past award winners,
please visit


The best airline deals only apply until October 17th. Make reservations
now! The discounted room rate at the Sheraton has been extended until
October 20th! Please call the Sheraton reservations line at
1-800-325-3535 to reserve a discounted room at the Sheraton Meadowlands Hotel in
East Rutherford, New Jersey.


The application deadline for scholarships was September 30th. We are
presently contacting scholarship applicants on the status of their


The Drug Policy Alliance conference will offer Continuing Education
Units (CEUs) for Counselors and Social Workers. In addition, application
for accreditation of this program by the New York State Continuing
Legal Education Board is currently pending. Please check the website for
additional information and updates or call the conference office at


A detailed agenda is available on our website as well as an updated
list of our conference speakers:

Noted speakers as of October 10th:

Caroline Acker, Carnegie Mellon University

Kenneth Alper, New York University School of Medicine

Judy Appel, Drug Policy Alliance

James Austin,George Washington University

Glenn Backes, Drug Policy Alliance

Ed Barocas, American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey

Mary Barr, Conextions, Inc.

Michael Blain, Prisoner's Justice Network

Tom Blaney, Conroy, Smith & Co.

Peter Blanken, University Medical Centre Utrecht

Graham Boyd, American Civil Liberties Union Drug Policy Litigation

Devon Brown, New Jersey Department of Corrections

William Buckman, William H. Buckman Law Firm

Scott Burris, Temple University

Larry Campbell, Mayor, Vancouver, British Columbia

Corinne Carey, Human Rights Watch

Peter Christ, Law Enforcement Against Prohibition

Allan Clear, Harm Reduction Coalition

Todd Clear, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Florida State

Denise Clegg, Drug Policy Alliance

Jonathan Cohen, Human Rights Watch

Peter Cohen, Centre for Drug Research (CEDRO)

Jack Cole, Law Enforcement Against Prohibition

Senator Jon Corzine, United States Senate

Richard Curtis, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

John de Miranda, National Association on Alcohol, Drugs, and Disability

Rick Doblin, Multidisciplinary Association of Psychedelic Studies

Christie Donner, Colorado Criminal Justice Reform Coalition

William Dyson, Connecticut State Assembly

Mitch Earleywine, University of Southern California

Edward Ellison, Law Enforcement Against Prohibition, Great Briton

Richard Elovich, Gay Men's Health Crisis in New York City

Angelyn Frazer, Families Against Mandatory Minimums

Paul Fudala, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Michelle Garcia

Ira Glasser, Drug Policy Alliance

Eliot Green, Loeb & Loeb LLP

Charles Grob, Harbor-University of California Los Angeles Medical

Reed Gusciora, New Jersey State Legislature

Ronald Hampton, National Black Police Association

William Harrell, American Civil Liberties Union of Texas

Joseph "Jazz" Hayden, New York City Campaign for the Restoration of the

Katharine Huffman, Drug Policy Alliance

John Hulick, National Council on Alcohol and Drug Dependence New Jersey

Jeanette Irwin, Drug Policy Alliance

Deborah Jacobs, American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey

John Jeffries, Legal Action Center's National H.I.R.E. Network

Rob Kampia, Marijuana Policy Project

Sandra Karpetas, Iboga Therapy House

Patrick Kroupa, University of Miami

Harry Levine, City University of New York

David Lewis, Brown University

Pam Lichty, Drug Policy Reform of Hawaii

Howard Lotsof, Dora Weiner Foundation

Chris Mann, MedEvent

Vincent Marrone, Public Strategies LLC

Marc Mauer, The Sentencing Project

Walter McKay, Organizational Ethics in Law

Hilary McQuie, Americans for Safe Access (ASA)

Alberto Mendoza, Drug Policy Alliance

Fabio Mesquita, Ministry of Health of the City of Sao Paulo, Brazil

John Morgan, City College of New York

Sheigla Murphy, Institute for Scientific Analysis

Ethan Nadelmann, Drug Policy Alliance

Robert Newman, The International Center for Advancement of Addiction
Treatment of The Baron
Edmond de Rothschild Chemical Dependency Institute

Tony Newman, Drug Policy Alliance

Pierre Claude Nolin, Former Senator, British Columbia

Phillip Owen, Former Mayor, Vancouver, British Columbia

Lynn Paltrow, National Advocates for Pregnant Women (NAPW)

Mark Parrino, American Association for the Treatment of Opiod

Stanton Peele

Daniel Pinchbeck

Bill Piper, Drug Policy Alliance

Russ Portenoy, Beth Israel Medical Center

Arun Prabhakaran, Kensington Welfare Rights Union

Divine Pryor, Association for Drug Abuse Prevention and Treatment, Inc.

Craig Reinarman, College Eight

Chuck Reis, UpFront

Anthony Romero, American Civil Liberties Union

Michael Roona, Social Capital Development Corporation

Marsha Rosenbaum, Drug Policy Alliance West

Malika Saada Saar, Rebecca Project for Human Rights

Laura Sager, Families Against Mandatory Minimums

Shayna Samuels, Drug Policy Alliance

Reverend Edwin Sanders, Drug Policy Alliance

Paula Santiago, Harm Reduction Coalition

Lloyd Sederer, New York Division of Mental Hygiene Services

Vincent Schiraldi, Justice Policy Institute

Sidney Schnoll, Purdue Pharma,

Roseanne Scotti, New Jersey Drug Policy Project

Carol Shapiro, La Bodega de la Familia

Steph Sherer, Americans for Safe Access

Rodney Skager, University of California Los Angeles

Deborah Small, Drug Policy Alliance

Mike Smithson, ReconsiDer: Forum on Drug Policy

Kemba Smith

Gerry Stimson, Imperial College of Medicine

Antionette Tellez-Humble, Drug Policy Alliance

Chuck Thomas, Unitarian Universalists for Drug Policy Reform

Bruce Trigg, Metropolitan Detention Center Public Health Office

David Vlahov, New York Academy of Medicine

Michael Weems, Ohio State University

Janet Wolf, Religious Leaders for a More Just and Compassionate Drug

Kevin Zeese, Common Sense for Drug Policy

You received this message because hempocracy (at) is a member of
the mailing list originating from alerts (at)

Please visit to
unsubscribe from all lists. Visit to learn
about other lists you can subscribe to.

For problems, please contact Jeanette Irwin at jirwin (at)

Please consider joining the Drug Policy Alliance:
See also:
Add a quick comment
Your name Your email


Text Format
Anti-spam Enter the following number into the box:
To add more detailed comments, or to upload files, see the full comment form.