US Indymedia Global Indymedia Publish About us
Printed from Boston IMC : http://boston.indymedia.org/
Boston.Indymedia
IVAW Winter Soldier

Winter Soldier
Testimonies
Brad Presente

Other Local News

Spare Change News
Open Media Boston
Somerville Voices
Cradle of Liberty
The Sword and Shield

Local Radio Shows

WMBR 88.1 FM
What's Left
WEDS at 8:00 pm
Local Edition
FRI (alt) at 5:30 pm

WMFO 91.5 FM
Socialist Alternative
SUN 11:00 am

WZBC 90.3 FM
Sounds of Dissent
SAT at 11:00 am
Truth and Justice Radio
SUN at 6:00 am

Create account Log in
Comment on this article | Email this article | Printer-friendly version
Hidden with code "Submitted as Feature"
Announcement :: Education : Organizing
Allston DIY Fest!
21 Jul 2011
Modified: 02:14:43 PM
Allston DIY Fest is a free, all-ages, sober festival celebrating DIY culture,
freedom of individual expression, community building and alternative
education, using a gift economy rather than money and oppressive
consumerism.
allston DIY Fest 2011.jpg
allston DIY Fest 2011 gif.gif
July 23rd 10am-6pm at Ringer Park in Allston, MA
Contact us at: allstondiyfest (at) gmail.com

Allston DIY Fest is a free, all-ages, sober festival celebrating DIY culture,
freedom of individual expression, community building and alternative
education, using a gift economy rather than money and oppressive
consumerism.

Featuring a bike generator powered stage for electric music, an acoustic
hangout stage, two streams for workshops/skillshares, a really, REALLY
free market, amazing local organizations, artists, artisans, zines,
records, performance art and MORE!!! Also: Keep an eye out for DIY
Fest related events happening in Allston all weekend long!

The event has been organized non-hierarchically and is open to all
individuals to participate and express themselves. We encourage folks
to bring their art, non-powered instruments, hoops and other toys to
the park!!

Please respect the park and respect all the people in it, helping us
create a safer space by keeping oppressive language and behavior away.
Racism, sexism, agism, classism, sizeism, ableism, transphobia and
homophobia are uncool and unwelcome!!!

Check us out on facebook! http://www.facebook.com/allstondiyfest

List of events:

MUSIC!:

Bike Generator Stage:
Doomstar! http://doomstar.bandcamp.com/
Fat History Month http://fathistorymonth.bandcamp.com/
Chris North Dream Quartet http://chrisnorth.bandcamp.com/
Brunt of It http://www.myspace.com/bruntofit
Melodeego http://www.melodeego.com/
Secret Jones http://hypem.com/search/secret+jones
The New Highway Hymnal http://www.myspace.com/highwayhymnal
Arvid Noe http://arvidnoe.blogspot.com/
Hyena (tour kick off!) http://laughablerecordings.com/
Scouter http://scouter.bandcamp.com/
Deafbabe http://www.myspace.com/deafbabeallston

The Many Peoples Band http://manypeople.bandcamp.com

Acoustic Hang:
Mornin' Old Sport http://www.morninoldsport.com/
The Hogstompers http://www.myspace.com/thehogstompers
Wounded Knees http://woundedknees.bandcamp.com/
Deezy & The Brobots http://deezyandthebrobots.bandcamp.com/
Reeling Kites http://reelingkites.bandcamp.com
Little Liars http://www.myspace.com/little-liars
Susanna Kavee http://www.susannakavee.bandcamp.com
Tayla Roberge
Heather Foxwell http://littlebones.bandcamp.com/
OPEN JAM!!! (bring stuff to play, mmmkk?!?!)

Skillshares/Workshops!:

Know Your Rights Training
Eco-Feminism & Connecting the Dots of Climate Change
Hooping & Poi
Fix-a-Flat
Alternative Menstrual/Contraceptive Products
Radical Self Defense Training
Direct Action 101
Self-Care in the Toxic Age
Home Brewing

A really, REALLY free market!

Art/artisans

Records, zines, rad local organizations and other cool stuff OH MY!!:

The Lucy Parsons Center http://lucyparsons.org/
Papercut Zine Library http://www.papercutzinelibrary.org/
Commonwheels Bicycle Co-Op http://commonwheels.bostonbiker.org/
Pocket Cat! Records http://www.pocketcatrecords.webs.com/
Food Not Bombs http://www.foodnotbombs.net/
Black and Pink http://www.blackandpink.org/
Anarchist Black Cross http://www.abcf.net/
The Whitehaus Family Record http://whitehausfamilyrecord.com/
Pen Cap Chew http://www.pencapchew.org/
Fantasy Fuel http://www.myspace.com/fantasyfuel
Big Collage Artist Collective http://www.bigcollage.org
See also:
http://allstondiyfest.tumblr.com/

This work is in the public domain