US Indymedia Global Indymedia Publish About us
Printed from Boston IMC : http://boston.indymedia.org/
Boston.Indymedia
IVAW Winter Soldier

Winter Soldier
Testimonies
Brad Presente

Media Centers

OTHER MEDIA SOURCES
The Boston Underground
Spare Change News
Open Media Boston
Somerville Voices
The Daily Radical

LOCAL RADIO SHOWS WMBR 88.1 FM www.wmbr.org
What's Left
WEDS at 8:00 pm
Radio with a View
SUN at 10:00 am
Spherio
FRI at 6:00 pm

WMFO 91.5 FM www.wmfo.org
No U-turn Radio
TUE 7:00 pm
Radio Outlaws
TUE 3:00 pm
Socialist Alternative
FRI 7:00 am

WZBC 90.3 FM www.wzbc.org
Sounds of Dissent
SAT at 11:00 am
Truth and Justice Radio
SUN at 6:00 am

Comment on this article | View comments | Email this Article
Hidden with code "Policy Violation"
News :: DNC
Protest Warrior Website is Bullshit
29 Sep 2004
Fake chapter listings.
This morning I took a look at the HTML and JavaScript behind the Protest Warrior website. If you go to this page:

http://hq.protestwarrior.com/?page=chapters/chapter_details.php&chapter_

you will see information on the local chapter (6) members. There probably are six members and I think I have photos of them all. Most of them are teen agers with pimply faces. Anyway, there is a link on that page to a form where you can messages to the leader of the Cambridge Branch. I took a look at the script behind the page and found that the email is not sent to anyone locally but to the two founders of Protest Warriors out in Austin, Texas. Here is a snippet of the code:

"






"

This would email all messages to kfir_and_alan, the founders, and not anyone local. This supports, to a small degree, the theory that they are a scam.

Anyway, here is the email address messages are actually sent to:

kfir_and_alan (at) protestwarrior.com

This work is in the public domain

Please Don't Feed the Trolls

Wikipedia defines an Internet Troll as: "An Internet troll is either a person who sends messages on the Internet hoping to entice other users into angry or fruitless responses, or a message sent by such a person." Boston IMC strives to provide both a grassroots media resource as well as a forum for people to contribute to a meaningful discussion about local issues. Please, when posting comments, be respectful of others and ignore those trying to interrupt or discourage meaningful discourse. Thank you.

-- Boston Indymedia volunteers

Comments

looks like the code was filtered out.
29 Sep 2004
Go to this page and then "view source" from your menu bar:

http://hq.protestwarrior.com/?page=chapters/email_leader.php&chapter_id=
Well, the pictures dont lie.
29 Sep 2004
Hmmm. Tell us, "protester": how is it possible to read the 'script behind the page' from a PHP document? Isnt it true that PHP (prehypertext protocol) pages merely OUTPUT pages in HTML? Isnt it also true that when one views the source of such an output page, they see ONLY the HTML output? This site is written in PHP as well. If you view the source, you will not see the 'script behind the page' here either. Who is full of bullshit?

Also, tell us how e-mail servers work when one uses a form mail page in PHP? Nevermind, those of us who KNOW websites (sorry, youre not one of them), know how they work and why your mysterious e-mail reference is in there. Actually, their website is quite attractive, and the photos of their activities (as well as the volumes of posts on their forums) show that they are the real thing. And after you finish picking up your face, you can tell us where your non-bullshit site is so that we can see how its REALLY done, right?

(subtle shaking head from side to side)
You caught the bait.
29 Sep 2004
And we caught the fish.
No wonder a certain programmer got fired
29 Sep 2004
****form action='?page=chapters/email_leader.php&chapter_id=1428' method=POST****

Humm... the parameter chapter_id is passed to the php script so the mail program knows who it should be directed to.

mailto:kfir_and_alan (at) protestwarrior.com down at the bottom is the contact link for the site, not the form action.

So the initial assertion ""This would email all messages to kfir_and_alan, the founders, and not anyone local. This supports, to a small degree, the theory that they are a scam."" is bogus.

This thread is bogus.

Next!